And the winners are...

Some of my librarian friends have spent the last few days in Dallas, Texas attending the American Library Association Midwinter Conference, and today was the day that many school and children's librarians were most looking forward to - the Youth Media Awards breakfast. It was webcast live this morning at 7:45am, and while I was at school this morning, I got to follow along as the winners were tweeted!

Here are some of the awards I'm most excited about:

2012 Newbery Medal goes "to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children."

The winner is Jack Gantos for Dead End in Norvelt.

Newbery Honors go to...
Inside Out & Back Again by Thanhha Lai and Breaking Stalin's Nose by Eugene Welchin

2012 Caldecott Award goes "to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children."

The winner is Chris Raschka for A Ball for Daisy. 

Caldecott Honors go to...
Blackout by John Rocco,Grandpa Green by Lane Smith, 
and Me... Jane by Patrick McDonnell

2012 Sibert Informational Award for "most distinguished informational book for children" goes to...
Balloons Over Broadway: The True Story of the Puppeteer of Macy's Parade by Melissa Sweet
2012 Coretta Scott King Awards are "given to African American authors and illustrators for outstanding inspirational and educational contributions."

CSK Author Award goes to...
Kadir Nelson for Heart and Soul: The Story of America and African Americans

CSK Illustrator Award goes to...
Shane W. Evans for Underground: Finding the Light to Freedom

There are LOTS of other book and media awards that were also presented, but I'll just refer you to the official Press Release for the rest. Of these books, only 2 are currently available at our library, but that will change soon! :)


Post a Comment

Back to Top